UJ International Office

UJ International Office

UJ International Office, below is the information on the University Of Johannesburg International Office.


The International Admissions and Welfare Office is there to ensure that all international students are provided with necessary support for the duration of their studies at the University of Johannesburg.


The International Admissions and Welfare Office is located on all four campuses and is responsible for:

  • Advising prospective students about programmes offered at UJ and all legal requirements
  • Providing assistance and guidance on the application process
  • Assisting with compliance related issues which include Study Visa and Medical aid requirements
  • Clearing admitted international students for registration
  • Providing liaison services for international students and faculties
  • Liaising with all South African Missions (Embassies, High Commissions, Consulates, Trade Missions) and the South African Department of Home Affairs
  • Social integration through orientation and student activities
  • Welfare services
Names Positions ​​Contacts
​Dr Oscar van Heerden ​Senior Director: Division for Internationalisation ​tel: +27 (0)11 559 4446
e-mail: ovanheerden@uj.ac.za
​Ms Lesley Gilbert ​Executive Secretary ​tel: +27 (0)11 559 4293
e-mail: lagilbert@uj.ac.za
Mr Lebethe Malefo Director : Study Abroad, Division for Internationalisation tel: +27 (0)11 559 4592
e-mail: lmalefo@uj.ac.za
Ms Ziyanda Sam Secretary to Director : Study Abroad ​tel: +27 (0) 11 559 4099
e-mail: zsam@uj.ac.za
​Prof Judy Peter​ Director : Internationalisation, Academic Services te: +27 (0)11 559 3797
e-mail: judyp@uj.ac.za​
Mr Tshidiso Konese Senior Student Recruitment Manager tel: +27 (0) 11 559 4832
e-mail: tshidisok@uj.ac.za
Mr Tshepang Marumo ​Supervisor: International Admissions Office tel: +27 (0)11 559 4517
​e-mail: tshepangm@uj.ac.za
Ms Lisle du Plessis Manager: Study Abroad tel: +27 (0) 11 559 2528
e-mail: lduplessis@uj.ac.za
​Mr Malibongwe Masango ​Administrative Officer: Academic Services ​tel: +27 (0) 11 559 4265
e-mail: mmasango@uj.ac.za
​Mr Ismail Badrudin ​Public Relations and Communications Officer ​tel: +27 (0)11 559 2303
e-mail: ismailb@uj.ac.za
Ms Shantelle Sass  Academic and Student Services Officer tel: 27 (0) 11 559 7780
e-mail: ssass@uj.ac.za
​Mr Thabang Mothebe ​International Admissions Officer ​tel: +27 (0)11 559 6510
e-mail: thabangm@uj.ac.za
​Ms Mampou Nqgumshe ​International Admissions Officer ​tel: +27 (0)11 559 1027
e-mail: mampoum@uj.ac.za
​Ms Palesa Makwela ​International Admissions Officer ​tel: +27 (0)11 559 5014
e-mail: pmakwela@uj.ac.za