Faculties At The University Of Johannesburg

The University of Johannesburg (UJ) shares the pace and energy of cosmopolitan Johannesburg, the city whose name it carries. Proudly South African, the university is alive down to its African roots, and well-prepared for its role in actualising the potential that higher education holds for the continent’s development.

UJ has transformed into a diverse, inclusive, transformational and collegial institution, with a student population of over 50 000, of which more than 3000 are international students from 80 countries. This makes UJ one of the largest contact universities in South Africa (SA) from the 26 public universities that make up the higher education system.


College of Business and Economics

  • Created from the former Faculties of Management, and Economic and Financial Sciences

Faculty of Art,Design and Architecture

  • Industry-relevant and competitive professional programmes

Faculty of Education

  • Education has the power to transform human lives

Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment

  • First in South Africa offering a full range of professional engineering qualifications

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • A preferred learner experience and innovative methods

Faculty of Humanities

  • To the benefit of individuals, the University and the community we serve

Faculty of Law

  • Traditional, specialised and short course Law programmes

Faculty of Science

  • Innovatively creating new knowledge and leading scientists